top of page
Search
  • heiarce

hiking

Hiking can be one of the most flexible and adventurous activities. Although it may not be everyone's cup of tea many people can agree the view is worth the time and exercise. No matter where you travel there is always a place to go on a new hiking adventure. Multiple trails leave for many days of various hiking and things to see. You can find places to hike such as locally in Peoria or even amazing mountains in colorado.


Travelers can prepare a hike to fit their snacking preferences, what you may like to drink, eat, or something you may want to do on the way. Hiking can be adjusted to fit your needs and desires throughout your trip. There is always a way to find shorter paths and different destinations. A one-hour hike can take as long as you would like if you stop for pictures along the way or choose to play games and talk to those on trails. Hiking has endless possibilities and no hike will ever be the same because the world and environment around you are always changing.



To prepare for my day of hiking, I always plan on checking the weather ahead of time so I know what to pack or wear for the day. Bringing layers is an easy and convenient way to control your desired temperature. My favorite shoes to wear when I hike locally or on a vacation where I am not mainly hiking is my new balance tennis shoes but depending on the trip or location I will sometimes wear the actual hiking shoes that I love. No matter what shoes you chose to wear make sure they have a lot of support and good traction to keep you from slipping or falling off of rocks.


When planning a hiking trip it is always fun to go during lunchtime and pack a quick and easy picnic lunch. I usually tend to hike around 10 until 1 or 2 in the afternoon. In my lunch, I bring some sort of nuts, my go-to is usually almonds, and pair them with an easy chip to snack on such as pringles because they take up little space in my backpack. For a sandwich, I will pack a salami or peanut butter and jelly because they are easy to make and always taste good when you need some energy. Lastly, for food, I freeze go-gurts overnight and pack them in my lunch in the morning. Because they are frozen they are the perfect temperature when I am ready to eat and they can be used as an icepack to keep fruits and other snacks cold.



One of my absolute favorite things to bring when hiking is a camera, whether it be your phone or an actual photography camera it is great to bring those memories home with you. I love looking back at pictures I took of beautiful views and gorgeous rocks or trees from hiking in various locations. My family tends to use a picture from hiking for our Christmas card every year. Although pictures are not always able to capture the beauty at the moment they are always a great way to remember how amazing your time on the top of the mountain was!



11 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page