top of page
Search
  • heiarce

Immersing Yourself in the Culture

Being thrown into an environment with a different language and culture can be overwhelming but eye-opening. It allows you to get a real-life view of what life is like for people of that culture. Understanding other’s daily troubles and things they may cherish will allow you to expand your knowledge of the world and things that may not affect you directly.

When I was a sophomore in high school my family took a trip to Ecuador. We went with some of our closest family friends whose immediate family lives in different places throughout the country. There we were able to visit historical landmarks, huge markets, and try new foods. My family traveled around the country able to visit new places and stay with new people. We had the opportunity to see how homes looked in various places in the country. People typically dressed nice and we're very welcoming, usually greeting you with a kiss on the cheek.


People in Ecuador typically eat healthy and new foods almost every day. When we went out to eat they even offered us guinea pig, which I could not get myself to eat. One of my favorite foods to this day is yucca bread, it is a savory bread with a stringy cheese in the middle. My mom now makes it for me every year on my birthday, although it is never as good as the kind in Ecuador.


Throughout my time traveling, I learned that experiencing a new culture can only benefit you. You may find your new favorite food, travel to a beautiful waterfall, or meet new lifelong friends. No matter what you end up doing or where you go try to remain open-minded and always up for a new adventure. Remember, you may never know what you will find.




4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page